PLAZAMEDIA extends Basketball Champions League production into third season

Ismaning, December 11, 2018 – PLAZAMEDIA has once again been commissioned by FIBA Media to produce the Basketball Champions League (BCL). As already in the first two seasons 2016/17 and 2017/18, the content solution provider is responsible for producing all home games of the German teams. To broadcast the BCL group stage, PLAZAMEDIA uses eight cameras per game, including backboard cams, as well as providing fully redundant SNG (satellite news gathering) for transmission via satellite. The client is FIBA Media, a joint venture between the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) and the sports media company Perform Group. FIBA Media is responsible for production and distribution of the BCL, all continental FIBA events, as well as the Basketball World Cup and qualifiers.

The contract involves creating two feeds: PLAZAMEDIA is responsible for the world feed with integrated graphics (e.g. ongoing scoreline) and the isolated feed of the main camera angle with integrated shot clock of the games. The company will oversee the 28 home games, beginning October 9, 2018, of the participating German teams MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg, Brose Bamberg, medi Bayreuth and Telekom Baskets Bonn during the group stage. The next gamedays are today and tomorrow – including the home games of Telekom Baskets Bonn versus Iberostar Tenerife today, Tuesday, and MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg versus Turkey’s Klub Banvit tomorrow, Wednesday (both tipping off at 8:00 p.m.). If the German teams are successful, PLAZAMEDIA’s contract will extend to their home games in the subsequent rounds of the tournament.

As last year, the BCL’s regular season sees 32 teams taking part, drawn into four groups of eight. In each group, teams play against each other home and away in a round-robin format. The four best teams in each group then qualify for the round-of-sixteen playoffs, also involving a home-and-away game for each team. As of the round of sixteen, the knockout stage of home-and-away games determines the final four, who will compete for the title in the semi-finals and final on the weekend of May 3 – 5, 2019.

Please select another language version

This page is available in the following languages: